

AusDBF Annual General Meeting Minutes

Sunday 20 November 2022
Parkroyal Melbourne Airport Hotel

Started: 9:13am (VIC time) / concluded: 9:41am (VIC time)

AusDBF Board
John Holland (Chair)
Martin Hastings (Finance)
Rex Tindal (Director)
Philippa McLean (Director)
Janine Lette (Director)
Dr Ruth Bollard (Director)

Member States
Jenny Cotton (DBQ-President)
Jenny Shapland (DBQ Board)
Iciar Argus (DBQ Board
Nicola Frowen (DBNSW-Chair)
Chen Li (DBNSW Board)
Belinda Fowler (DBNSW Board)

John Cuzzupi (DBV–President) Christine Watson (DBV Board) Craig Ryan (DBV – Op Manager) Julie Lister (DBSA – President)

Apologies: Carlos Diz (family emergency), Sylvia Wong (Director), Zijing Chu (Director), DBACT, DBTAS (Donna Fittock) – late flight cancellation, DBWA Rex Tindal (holding Proxy) DAA, Darwin Waterfront Warriors, Arafura Dragons

Guest: Ian Gearey (AusDBF D& I), Adrian Stephens (AusDBF Nominations Committee)

Minutes taken Melanie Cantwell (MC)

1. Welcome and Roll call

- John Holland welcomed everyone to the 2022 AusDBF Annual General Meeting
- Apologies were noted from the following Members:
 - Sylvia Wong was in Thailand attending the 14th Asian Dragon Boat Championships
 - Zijing Chu was in Thailand competing as an Aurora at the 14th Asian Dragon Boat Championships
 - DBACT Donald Jenkins (President) was overseas for work and other Board Directors unable to attend
 - o DBTAS Donna Fittock flight from Hobart cancelled in the morning gave proxy to John Holland
 - O DBWA Brad Brooksby (President) unable to attend due to prior commitments gave proxy to Rex Tindal
 - O DAA unable to attend due to prior commitments
 - o Darwin Waterfront Warriors and Arafura no response received from either NT Club

2. Minutes from Annual General Meeting held 14 November 2021 (online)

No concerns were raised from the Minutes

DECISION: Minutes were approved by the Members present by show of hands.

Moved: Nicola Frowen (DBNSW) seconded: John Cuzzupi (DBV)

3A. AusDBF 2021-22 Financial reports

- MH provided an overview of the financial reports and AusDBF financial position
- No concerns were raised from the Audited financial reports

DECISION: Financial reports were approved by the Members present by show of hands.

Moved: Martin Hastings (AusDBF) seconded: Jenny Shapland (DBQ)

V1 1 of 3

3B. Appointment of AusDBF Auditor for 2022-23

• Martin Hastings proposed that AusDBF re-appoint Dickensons Accountants as AusDBF Auditors for 2022-23 financial year.

DECISION: The appointment of Dickensons Accountants was approved by the Members present by show of hands.

Moved: Martin Hastings (AusDBF) seconded: Julie Lister (DBSA)

4. AusDBF Annual report 2021-22

- JH thanked the AusDBF Board and all the Committees for their work during the last 12 months and provided the below highlights
 - Training and education for Coaches and sweeps is working well
 - Sweep accreditation at long last is a national program thanks to the collaboration between the State Sweep Coordinators
 - Pride in Sport resources, information and learnings have been eye opening with regards to inclusivity
 - Nominations Committee identifying gaps in skills on the Board and assistance with succession planning for the future
 - Jon Taylor was inducted into the IDBF inaugural Hall of Fame
- The AusDBF board is an Operational Board more than strategic. The AusDBF Committees provide the extra manpower to assist with progressing initiatives and tasks.
- No questions were raised by the Members

DECISION: AusDBF Annual Report was approved by the Members present by show of hands. APPROVED

5. Election of Directors

AusDBF has 2 Director positions up for election.

Nominations were received from:

Janine Lette – nominating for a third term

Zijing Chu – nominating for a second term (first term was as an appointed Director)

John asked Members to accept the late nomination received from Zijing Chu (2 days after deadline) due to administration hold-up

Late nomination for Zijing Chu to be accepted was:

Moved: Jenny Cotton (DBQ) Seconded: Nicola Frowen

APPROVED

Nominations for Scrutineers:

- Ian Gearey
- Philippa McLean

Election of Directors was conducted by secret ballot

Directors elected:

- Janine Lette
- Zijing Chu

V1 2 of 3

Members Agreed to destroy the paper ballots

- John thanked retiring Director Rex Tindal for his huge contribution to AusDBF over the last 6 years, and has agreed to assist AusDBF with LMS support
- John thanked Ruth Bollard for her contribution over the last 2 years in the Diversity and Inclusion space

6. Motion: 'To consider and adopt the following changes to the 2020 version AusDBF Constitution'

Clause 13.9 Casual vacancy in the ranks of elected Directors

Current wording:

- a. The Directors may at any time appoint a person to fill a casual vacancy in the rank of the Elected Directors = NO CHANGE
- b. A person appointed under clause 13.9(a) holds office until the next Annual General Meeting at which time they can nominate for re-election

CHANGE (b) TO

A person appointed under clause 13.9(a) holds office for the remainder of the vacated Director's term

Motion: Change to Clause 13.9(b) was approved by Members

V1 3 of 3