

# **AusDBF Annual General Meeting Minutes**

Sunday 17th November 2019

Venue: Holiday Inn Sydney Airport (Cnr O'Riordan St & Bourke Rd, Mascot)

Started: 9:00am / concluded: 11:00am (AEST)

**AusDBF Board** 

Kristin Priest (Chair)
John Holland (Finance)
Angie Aston (Director)
Rex Tindal (Director)
Kris Fleming (Director)
Philippa Mclean (Director)

Nick Sifniotis (Director)

**Member States** 

Mark Slater (DBQ-President)
Janine Lette (DBQ)
Nicola Frowen (DBNSW-Chair)
Shane Knight (DBNSW-CEO)
Tamsyn Glen (DBNSW)

Wynette Monserrat (DBNSW)

John Corcoran (DBACT-President)
Sue Pidgeon (DBACT)
Adrian Stephens (DBV – President)
Brendan Breen (DBTAS – President)
Maria Darby (DBSA–Vice President)

John Beinke (DBWA-Vice President)

Mabel Sansom (DAA -Chair)

Guests: Martin Hastings (Director Nominee), Sylvia Wong (Director Nominee)

Minutes taken Melanie Cantwell (MC)

### 1. Acceptance/Review of previous Annual General Meeting minutes

Minutes were accepted by Members present with the note of the below edits

Item 6 – changed to Discussion not held

Item 7 – changed to Discussion not held

Item 9 - changed to Discussion not held

Item 10 - changed to Discussion not held

Under DBV change 'social directors' to 'Associate Directors'

Minutes were moved by: Kristin Priest (AusDBF) and seconded by Nicola Frowen (DBNSW) Approved by Members

#### 2. Acceptance of 2018-2019 AusDBF Financial Statements

John Holland provided an explanation of 'other expenses' and distributed an addendum to the financial statements as provided by the Auditor

Financial Statements were moved by: John Holland (AusDBF) and seconded by Janine Lette (DBQ) Approved by Members

#### 3. Appointment of Auditor

John Holland advised Dickenson's were AusDBF current Auditors and he was satisfied with their work and would recommend Dickens's again for a further 12 months.

DBNSW suggested it was good practise to go out tender to seek alternative quotes for 2020/2021 financial year, as AusDBF had been using Dickenson's for approx 8 years.

Financial Statements were moved by: John Holland (AusDBF) and seconded by Angie Aston (AusDBF) Approved by Members

## 4. 2018-2019 Annual Report

- Kristin presented the annual report to the Members.
- Kristin thanked all the Members for their support over the last 12 months

- Kristin thanked each of the Board Directors for their contribution
- DBV acknowledged Kristin and the Board for the significant work which has been accomplished over the last 12 months

Annual Report was moved by: Kristin Priest (AusDBF) and seconded by Sue Pidgeon (DBACT) Approved by Members

- Election of Directors
  - Sue Pidgeon (DBACT) and Wynette Monserrat (DBNSW) nominated to be the returning officers
  - Each nominee was asked to speak on why they wanted to stand and what they hoped to contribute
  - Each Member was handed a voting paper and asked to a) tick against the nominees they were voting for and b) nominate which candidates would have the 2 years and 1-year term.
  - All 5 nominees were elected John Holland – 2-year term Philippa Mclean – 2-year term Martin Hastings – 2-year term Sylvia Wong – 2 year term Janine Lette – 1-year term
- 6. Motion: "To consider and adopt the following change in the constitution clause 5.5 Affiliate Members"
  - General discussion on the motion
  - DAA were asked to speak to the Members and provided their point of view
  - Members agreed further discussion was needed as further changes to the constitution would be required for clause 5.
  - DAA encourage the Members to raise any general concerns with DAA and wanted to improve the relationship between DAA and the Members
  - All Members agreed for AusDBF to provide a discussion with the changes for the Members to consider
  - Kristin withdrew the motion
- 7. *Motion:* "To consider and adopt the change in the constitution Clause 12.2 (b) with regards to election of Directors"

'If the number of nominations received for the Board is equal to the number of vacancies to be filled or if there is insufficient nominations received to fill all vacancies on the Board then those nominated shall be declared elected only if approved by the majority of Members entitled to vote at the Annual General Meeting'. 'If a person nominated at the Annual General meeting is not approved by the majority of Members under Clause 12.2 he/she will not be entitled to take office until approved by the Members at an Annual General Meeting'.

Motion was moved by: Kristin Priest (AusDBF) and seconded by Brendan Breen (DBTAS) Approved by Members

- 8. AusDBF recommendation for John Holland to be granted Life Member status to AusDBF
  - Discussion with Members held around process for nominations being submitted and recommended
  - AusDBF to create a policy and form which outlines criteria and process for future nominations. All
    agreed this was a transparent step forward.

Vote was taken and agreed to bestow Life Membership for John Holland

Meeting closed 11am